Mark Roman | October 10, 2023 | Florida Law
Golf carts are as plentiful in Florida as palm trees and beautiful beaches. In Pinellas County alone, there are around 1,900 registered golf carts described as “street legal.” This number does not include unregistered golf carts or those that people use on their private property or golf courses.
Not only are these vehicles more environmentally friendly and easier to maneuver than larger motorized vehicles, but their aesthetic is becoming increasingly popular with individuals, young and old. This means you can expect to see more golf carts out and about in Florida.
However, golf cart drivers who do not comply with the law are at risk of contributing to or sustaining catastrophic injuries. Therefore, you should be aware of Florida’s golf cart laws to ensure your safety and the safety of others.
Florida Laws Governing Golf Carts
Golf carts are specifically designed and created for use on a golf course. As such, these vehicles can typically only reach 20 miles per hour — if that. Nonetheless, they are subject to certain laws. Here’s what you need to know about what Florida law says regarding these vehicles.
Title and Registration
Golf carts do not normally need to be titled or registered to be operated on golf courses or roadways. However, if you convert your golf cart to a low-speed vehicle by increasing the maximum speed, it must be titled and registered. Before you can do this, you must prove that your modified golf cart has all the features that low-speed vehicles require.
Insurance and Licensing
You do not need a personal injury protection (PIP) policy or other insurance to drive a golf cart. Nor does Florida law require you to have a driver’s license to drive one if you are over 18 years old. However, young teens can no longer drive golf carts without a license or a permit.
Specifically, drivers at least 15 years old will need a learner’s permit to drive a golf cart. If your child is 16 but less than 18, then they will need a driver’s license to drive a golf cart. However, these licensing rules only apply if your teen drives a golf cart on a public road or highway.
You should also be aware that if you modify your golf cart to become a low-speed vehicle, you must have a PIP policy if you intend to drive it on the road. You will also need a valid driver’s license — regardless of age.
Golf Cart Usage on Public Roads
Generally, a golf cart is not permitted on public roadways unless certain conditions are met. If a public road has a speed limit of 30 miles per hour or less, a golf cart can be driven on that road.
As a result, golf carts are permitted on most roads in residential areas but prohibited on highways and busier streets in commercial areas. They can be driven on paths and county roads that cross these busier roadways, but signs should be posted near the road’s intersection, alerting drivers that golf carts can enter and cross the roadway.
Finally, converted golf carts are permitted on streets with a speed limit that does not exceed 35 miles per hour.
Golf Cart Safety in Florida
Golf carts are not motor vehicles, but the injuries you sustain in a crash can be just as significant as ones sustained in a car accident. To stay safe while operating a golf cart, make sure you know how to operate the vehicle safely and obey all relevant laws. This can prevent catastrophic collisions and fatal rollover accidents.
Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney
In Florida, you have two years to file a personal injury claim in most cases. If the statute of limitations expires, you will be barred from recovering compensation. Hiring an experienced personal injury lawyer can help you avoid missing the opportunity to recover damages.
Florida HB 657 may deter some speeding in school zones. However, it is still possible that you may be involved in an accident in a school zone. If you were recently injured as a result of a motorist speeding in a school zone, you should contact a Florida personal injury lawyer for a free case evaluation.
Contact the Florida Personal Injury Law Firm of Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers for Help Today
For more information, please contact the legal team of Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers for a free initial consultation with a Personal Injury lawyer in Florida. We have five convenient locations in Florida: Clearwater, New Port Richey, and Tampa.
Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers – Clearwater Office
1811 N. Belcher Road, Suite I-1
Clearwater, FL 33765
Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers – Congress Ave Office
2360 Congress Avenue
Clearwater, FL 33763
Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers – Tampa Office
6601 Memorial Hwy Suite 202
Tampa, FL 33615
Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers – New Port Richey Office
2515 Seven Springs Blvd.
New Port Richey, FL, 34655