Being injured in any type of car accident is a traumatic experience, but a hit-and-run can cause even more stress. If you never locate the fleeing driver, you may incur financial losses through no fault of your own.
If you find yourself in this difficult situation, our New Port Richey hit-and-run accident lawyers can help.
The legal team at Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers has over five decades of combined experience, and we’ll use it to pursue the compensation you deserve. Since our founding in 1996, we’ve helped our clients recover over $120 million in settlements and court awards.
Don’t give up hope if a driver fled the scene of your collision. Let us investigate and help you identify your legal options. Contact our personal injury law firm at (727) 815-8442 for a free consultation to discuss your hit & run accident in New Port Richey, Florida.
How Our New Port Richey Car Accident Lawyers Can Help After a Hit & Run Collision
If you were injured in a hit-and-run accident in New Port Richey, FL, you don’t have to take on insurance companies alone. Let Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers handle the legal issues so that you can focus on your physical health and well-being.
When you hire our experienced car accident attorneys after a hit & run, we’ll:
- Independently investigate your accident to collect evidence identifying the driver
- Monitor any investigations by local law enforcement
- Evaluate every potential option for compensation, including insurance claims, third-party claims, and more
- Monitor the statute of limitations and determine whether it can be tolled
- Handle all negotiations and legal claims on your behalf
Call our Florida law office today to learn more about our legal services.
What Is a Hit-and-Run Accident in Florida?
Florida law imposes certain legal duties on drivers when they’re involved in crashes.
If you’re in a car accident that causes personal injury, death, or property damage, you must:
- Immediately stop your vehicle at the crash scene – or as close to it as possible if it’s unsafe or you’re unnecessarily blocking traffic
- Check for injuries and render reasonable aid, such as by calling 911
- Exchange information (name, address, vehicle registration, insurance, and driver’s license information) with any other parties involved
It’s a crime to leave a car accident scene without fulfilling these obligations.
What Are the Penalties for a Hit-and-Run in Florida?
If the fleeing driver is found, a hit-and-run conviction could result in:
- A second-degree misdemeanor if the collision caused property damage only – up to 60 days in jail and $500 in fines
- A third-degree felony if the collision caused bodily injuries – up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine
- A second-degree felony if the collision caused serious bodily injuries – up to 15 years in prison and a $5,000 fine
- A first-degree felony if the collision caused a fatality – four to 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
However, in addition to criminal penalties imposed by the state, the accident victim may pursue a civil case against the hit-and-run driver. This is a separate legal proceeding that allows the victim to seek compensation for their losses.
Why Do Florida Drivers Leave the Scene of an Accident?
There are various reasons why a person may flee the scene after being involved in a collision, including:
- They are uninsured
- They’re driving without a valid license, such as if their license is suspended
- They’re facing criminal charges or have a warrant against them
- They have contraband in the vehicle
- They’re under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- The vehicle is stolen
- They’re concerned about immigration issues
- They have multiple traffic violations on their driving record
Our New Port Richey car accident attorneys will use our resources and work with local police to attempt to identify and find the driver. There may be traffic camera footage, surveillance from a local business, eyewitnesses, or other available evidence.
Even if we fail to locate the hit-and-run driver, you may have other options for recovering compensation.
How Can I Recover Compensation After a Hit & Run in New Port Richey, Florida?
You may have multiple options for securing compensation after a hit-and-run crash. It will depend on:
- Your car insurance coverage, including optional policies
- The severity of your injuries
- Whether we locate the hit & run driver
- If found, the hit & run driver’s auto insurance
All drivers in Florida must carry a minimum of $10,000 in no-fault Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance.
PIP coverage applies regardless of who is at fault, and your first step is to file a claim with your own PIP insurer if you suffered an injury. PIP will cover a portion of your medical expenses and lost wages – even after a hit-and-run accident.
However, if you sustained a serious injury or your expenses exceed your PIP policy limits, you can generally seek additional compensation from the at-fault driver (if found) by:
- Filing a claim with their PDL insurance company for property damage losses
- Filing a claim with their bodily injury liability (BIL) provider if they have this optional coverage
- Pursuing a personal injury claim against them
You may also have optional coverage that applies. For example, if you purchased uninsured motorist (UM) insurance, it will typically cover damages caused by a hit-and-run.
Additionally, we may identify third parties that share liability for your injuries, such as:
- Another negligent motorist, bicyclist, or pedestrian
- The employer of the hit-and-run driver
- The manufacturer of a defective auto component
- A government entity, if a road defect contributed
Our hit & run accident lawyers in New Port Richey will review your crash and exhaust every potential option for compensation.
Contact Our New Port Richey Hit & Run Accident Attorneys for a Free Initial Consultation
If you were injured in a hit-and-run accident in New Port Richey, FL, contact Roman Austin Personal Injury Lawyers for assistance.
We’ll do everything possible to get you compensated for your medical bills, lost income, pain and suffering, and more. Our New Port Richey hit-and-run accident attorneys offer a free case evaluation, so call today to schedule yours.